You Owe Me A Murder by Eileen Cook | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

You Owe Me A Murder by Eileen Cook | ReviewYou Owe Me a Murder by Eileen Cook
Published by Clarion Books on March 5, 2019
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBuy on The Book DepositoryBuy on BOOKSAMILLIONBuy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Kim gets more than she bargained for when she is set up for murder. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, E. Lockhart, and Gillian Flynn.

17-year-old Kim never expected to plot a murder. But that was before her boyfriend dumped her for another girl. Now, Kim’s stuck on a class trip to London with him and his new soulmate and she can’t help wishing he was a little bit dead, even if she’d never really do that.   But when Kim meets Nicki, a stranger on the plane who’s more than willing to listen to Kim’s woes, things start to look up. Nicki's got a great sense of humor, and when she jokes about swapping murders, Kim plays along—that is, until Kim’s ex-boyfriend mysteriously dies.   Blackmailed by Nicki to fulfill her end of the deal, Kim will have to commit a murder or take the fall for one.  

(Last Updated On: November 24, 2021)
Read Next  Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher | Review

So, as some of you may know, I’m not the biggest fan of mysteries. Yet, there was something about You Owe Me A Murder by Eileen Cook that immediately drew me in and caught my attention.

I loved the plot line behind this book. The main character, Kim, is stuck going on a trip to London over the summer with her ex-boyfriend and his new girlfriend. She meets a girl named Nicki on the plane ride over, and they immediately sort of connect and joke about something happening to her ex-boyfriend.

Kim ends up thinking nothing of it, but then the stakes get raised high pretty quickly. Interesting, right!?

The twists don’t stop there either. The plot takes a whole bunch of crazy turns, some of which I didn’t see coming, so I give Eileen Cook major props for that. I usually hate mysteries because I can guess where the storyline is going, but that wasn’t the case with this book.

I also really loved Kim as the main character. She was struggling internally because of the murders throughout this whole book, and I felt for her. I don’t know what I would have done if I was caught in her shoes. I also loved Alex, the boy who teams up with Kim throughout the story and is always there for her. He was really clever and funny and ultimately cared for Kim through everything, no matter what.

My only struggle with You Owe Me A Murder by Eileen Cook is the ending, which is why I’m giving it four stars. It just felt like it was leading up to this really big ending and then it just sort of finished, and I was left wanting a little bit more of a jam-packed ending. I don’t know, I may be the outlier on this one though. Despite that, I really loved the book and all of the twists.

Read Next  Want by Cindy Pon | Review

Similar Posts

19 Comments

  1. I love a good mystery, so I’m happy to hear you mostly enjoyed this one. I think it’s based on Strangers on a Train right? Love that movie (never read the book though).
    -Lauren

  2. This sounds quite good! Though I am sad that the ending was a bit disappointing. Especially in a mystery/thriller type book, I feel like the ending HAS to be on point, you know? At least it wasn’t predictable though, that is a plus! Glad it was mostly a win for you, great review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.