Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown | ReviewVelvet Undercover by Teri Brown
Published by Balzer + Bray on October 20, 2015
Genres: Historical Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray comes this page-turning historical spy thriller from Teri Brown, author of the Born of Illusion series.

Samantha Donaldson's family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, mathematics, and complex puzzles, hoping to make him proud.

When Sam is asked to join the famed women's spy group La Dame Blanche, she's torn—while this could be an unbelievable adventure, how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes she can't refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity.

Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known only as Velvet. Deep undercover in the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Sam must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse she must fight a forbidden attraction to the enemy—a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Sam find Velvet before it's too late . . . for them both?

A thrilling story of one girl's journey into a deadly world of spy craft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences.

(Last Updated On: June 11, 2022)
Read Next  Uglies by Scott Westerfeld | Review

Velvet Undercover was definitely a unique read, unlike anything I’d read before. To start off, the story follows a girl named Sam, who is a Girl Guide during World War I. Her father mysteriously went missing a while ago, and she and her mother haven’t heard from him since, nor do they really know where he is.

Therefore at home, it’s just Sam and her mother. After being asked to join La Dame Blanche, which is a spy association, Sam doesn’t want to say yes even though she’s heard a lot about it as a Girl Guide.

She can’t leave her mother at home alone. However, she ends up accepting and is swept off to training. She’s told that her mission will involve a girl named Velvet.

I loved this book! It was a very fast-paced read, which I liked. I mean, nobody likes a slow book! I also loved Sam as a character, and it was very cool that she was part of the Girl Guides so early on. I’ve been a Girl Scout almost all my life, so it was cool to see another girl’s organization portrayed in a book during such a time of distress. 

Another thing I liked about Samantha was that she was incredibly smart. She even wanted to go to college and major in math. On top of that, she could speak five languages and easily translate these languages within minutes!

I know for a fact that I can’t do that. However, I do only know French and English! Also, there was a love interest, and I really liked that.

Velvet Undercover took place in Europe, which as an American, I absolutely ate up. This was a great historical fiction read, and I’ll be on the lookout for more by Teri Brown in the future. I don’t read historical fiction enough!

Read Next  Book Review: Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.