Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better by Madisen Kuhn | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better by Madisen Kuhn | ReviewPlease Don't Go Before I Get Better by Madisen Kuhn
Published by Gallery Books on May 1, 2018
Genres: Poetry
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
Source: Won in Giveaway
Buy on AmazonBuy on The Book DepositoryBuy on BOOKSAMILLIONBuy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Discover this exquisite poetry and prose collection about the pains of growing up from the popular millennial Instagram poet, perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur.

Following her breakout debut Eighteen Years, poet Madisen Kuhn is thrilled to share this intimate portrait of a young woman navigating early adulthood and leaving her teenage years behind.

Chronicling the complexities, joys, and challenges of this transitional phase of life, Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better is a powerful, deeply affecting work that pierces your heart with its refreshing candor and vulnerability. A poignant exploration of self-image, self-discovery, and self-reflection, this anthology brilliantly captures the universal experience of growing up, and you are bound to find yourself reflected in these glimmering pages.

(Last Updated On: November 24, 2021)

**Thank you to Goodreads!**

As poetry has been garnering more and more attention by the media and readers alike, I knew that this one was a book I had to give a try. I then took my chances by entering a Goodreads giveaway, and before I knew it, I had actually won! I never win Goodreads giveaways, so I was highly surprised but also elated with joy at the same time.

Read Next  Blind Item by Kevin Dickson & Jack Ketsoyan | Review

This book is a collection of poetry, but Madisen’s writing is so raw and real. I connected to more than one poem wholeheartedly, probably because we are both around the same age. Though I had never heard of her Instagram, nor had I heard of Instagram poetry, I instantly connected with her and her writing as we explored her inner thoughts and feelings.

I also appreciated that some of her poems were actually quite long, as in more than one page. A lot of poems are so incredibly short lately, especially the ones that end up circulating around the internet. I am excited to read more from Kuhn in the future, and in the meantime, will probably turn back to this book for a reread.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.