Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy | ReviewLearning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing on July 5, 2016
Genres: Dystopian
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Brimming with humor and one-of-a-kind characters, this end-of-the world novel will grab hold of Andrew Smith and Rainbow Rowell fans.

An asteroid is hurtling toward Earth. A big, bad one. Yuri, a physicist prodigy from Russia, has been called to NASA as they calculate a plan to avoid disaster. He knows how to stop the asteroid: his research in antimatter will probably win him a Nobel prize--if there's ever another Nobel prize awarded. But Yuri's 17, and having a hard time making older, stodgy physicists listen to him. Then he meets Dovie, who lives like a normal teenager, oblivious to the impending doom. Being with her, on the adventures she plans when he's not at NASA, Yuri catches a glimpse of what it means to save the world and save a life worth living.
Prepare to laugh, cry, cringe, and have your mind burst open with questions of the universe.

(Last Updated On: June 10, 2022)
Read Next  Playing Defense by Cate Cameron | Review

Learning to Swear in America follows a Russian physicist named Yuri who may soon be the youngest person ever to win a Nobel Prize. However, the world may end because there’s an asteroid hurtling straight towards California, so that Nobel Prize dream may never come true.

Yuri is sent to America to help stop the asteroid from hitting Earth, though nobody really takes him seriously. That’s when he meets a girl named Dovie, who really allows him to find out what being a teenager in America is all about. He even gets taken to prom!  

Yuri was such a great character. I really liked that you could tell he wasn’t American because of the way that the author made him talk. He was very lovable too, especially because of how intelligent he was. Sometimes he was so intelligent that even I felt a little taken aback!

Besides Yuri, Dovie was awesome too. She really helped Yuri break out of his shell and realize that sure, he can be super smart all the time, but he should also take some breaks from all of the hard work and experience real life as a teenager.

I mean, you’re only this young once! He should go out and adventure, which Dovie definitely has him do.  

The entire storyline for Learning to Swear in America was very intriguing. I mean, an asteroid hurtling towards Earth that could potentially devastate North America?! How much more interesting could it possibly get?

I also loved that this book was borderline contemporary, even though it was mainly a science fiction novel. It combined two of my all-time favorite genres! The synopsis states that the book is perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Rainbow Rowell, and I completely agree!

Read Next  Charlie, Presumed Dead by Anne Heltzel | Review

I know for sure that this is one novel that I’m going to recommend to others who are looking for a read that’s a bit different. 

Read these next:

Similar Posts

7 Comments

  1. Great review! This book sounds like a lot of fun! I love when a character is supposed to be extremely intelligent, and the author actually shows that. There are so many books in this world in which the protagonist is supposed to be super smart but the author provides no evidence of that. Thanks for the review!

  2. I know is not out yet, but I am contemplating if to read it or not. Looks perfect for my dystopia challenge, but I need something light and out of normal, so I guess that I might read it.

  3. I've never heard this book before but it sounds really interesting! I've read so many contemporaries and they all seem the same now so it'd be cool to read this with the whole science fiction aspect mixed it! I'll definitely check this out. Lovely review!

    Laura @BlueEyeBooks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.