Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor | Review ft. Outlander

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor | Review ft. OutlanderInto the Dim by Janet B. Taylor
Series: Into the Dim #1
Published by Clarion Books on March 1, 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction
Pages: 428
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

When fragile, sixteen-year-old Hope Walton loses her mom to an earthquake overseas, her secluded world crumbles. Agreeing to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic, but also a member of a secret society of time travelers. Trapped in the twelfth century in the age of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Hope has seventy-two hours to rescue her mother and get back to their own time. Along the way, her path collides with that of a mysterious boy who could be vital to her mission . . . or the key to Hope’s undoing. 

(Last Updated On: January 17, 2022)

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m a sucker for historical fiction. I just don’t read it as much as I’d like to, but when I do, I love it. There’s just something magical about going back into the past and experiencing what it possibly could have been like.  

Read Next  How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay | Review

Into the Dim follows a girl named Hope whose mother just died. Her mother’s sister gets in touch with her father and suggests that she come to Scotland for the summer. Hope ends up going because her father has a cruise planned with his new girlfriend.

When she gets to Scotland, she finds that there are many secrets that her mother kept from her. Not only that, but her mother is actually alive but is stuck in the past, so she has to use time travel along with her two new friends in order to save her.  

Okay, so you know how I said that I love historical fiction? Well, I also love time travel. Combine those two together and then add in a romance and you’ve got me completely hooked. This book was honestly the perfect combination of all three.  

In regard to characters, I absolutely loved them all. First of all, there’s Hope, who is the main protagonist. She’s extremely clever and strong. She’s also pretty great at handling tough situations.

I don’t know what I would’ve done if I was told that my mom was trapped in the past and that I had to time travel back to get her.

There was also Phoebe and Collum who went into the past with Hope. They were siblings and I really liked both of them. They were wonderfully developed side characters.  

Last but not least, there’s Bran. He was my favorite character! He actually met Hope before she traveled back into the past. Even though he may kind of push you away with his attitude, trust me when I say he’s a good guy. You’re going to like him!    

Read Next  Blog Tour & Giveaway: Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom!

I keep seeing that this book is perfect for fans of Outlander, which I have never watched or read. I’m definitely going to have to check it out while I anxiously await the sequel to Into the Dim!

Similar Posts

2 Comments

  1. I saw mixed reviews for this book from some bloggers so I'm really glad to see someone with some positive things to say. I am still going to give this book a chance (eventually, first I need to get my hands on a copy) and your review helps remind me why I wanted to read it in the first place. From your review I can see why it's recommended to fans of Outlander because it is similar (maybe it's the Scottish setting) and I hope you watch it (or read it) because it's good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.