Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West | ReviewFame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on February 5, 2019
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Fan favorite author Kasie West delivers an effervescent story about chasing your dreams and following your heart, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Lacey Barnes has dreamed of being an actress for as long as she can remember. So when she gets the opportunity to star in a movie alongside one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, she doesn’t hesitate to accept the part.

But Lacey quickly learns that life in the spotlight isn’t as picture perfect as she imagined. She’s having trouble bonding with her costars, her father has hired the definition of a choir boy, Donavan Lake, to tutor her, and somewhere along the way she’s lost her acting mojo. And just when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, it looks like someone on set is deliberately trying to sabotage her.

As Lacey’s world spins out of control, it feels like the only person she can count on—whether it’s helping her try to unravel the mystery of who is out to get her or snap her out of her acting funk—is Donavan. But what she doesn’t count on is this straight-laced boy becoming another distraction.

With her entire future riding on this movie, Lacey knows she can’t afford to get sidetracked by a crush. But for the first time in her life Lacey wonders if it’s true that the best stories really do happen when you go off script.

(Last Updated On: May 29, 2022)
Read Next  Mercy Mode by Em Garner | Review

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West was an incredible contemporary young adult novel! Learn all about what I enjoyed and didn’t enjoy throughout this review.

If you don’t have time to read the full review, just know that it’s definitely worth the read, especially if you’re looking for a quick summer contemporary to read by the pool. It would also make a great plane ride!

The Good Parts of Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss

For the longest time, I had been hearing such good things about Kasie West, yet I still hadn’t had the opportunity to read one of her books. When I saw that she had a new novel coming out, I absolutely jumped on the chance to read it and review it! Some of my friends have raved about West’s writing style, interesting plots, swoon-worthy characters, and more.

Now, it’s been a while since I read a contemporary novel. As some of you may know, I have a love-hate relationship with them. Sometimes I end up loving them, but other times they really annoy me because they’re so predictable. I’m kind of 50/50 with them; it really is a case of I either love it or hate it, which is unfortunate!

Luckily, I really enjoyed Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss! It was a bit predictable at times, yes, but it was engaging and interesting, which led me to continue reading.

I’m also a sucker for books that take place with celebrities for some reason, so this book just did not disappoint at all for me. It was so fun to read from start to finish. I loved following Lacey on set! She was a likeable character and I enjoyed learning more about her while reading, even though she was very different from me as a person.

Read Next  From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion | Review

I loved that every so often, a chapter would open with part of the script. It made it really fun because then I knew exactly what was going on when Lacey and Grant would talk about the scenes since I actually got to read some of them.

The chemistry! I learned to absolutely love the tutor and he soon became my favorite character. Truly, the story between the two of them had me interested throughout the entire book. I really loved the two main characters and would definitely read more with the two of them in it if West were ever to write a sequel.

West truly has a way of intriguing you and keeping you interested with her writing, which I appreciated. Her books are definitely the kind of reads that could pull you out of a reading slump if you were ever in one. Her writing has a quick pace (which is needed with contemporaries in my opinion) and is light-hearted.

I also loved that this was such an easy read! Sometimes, all you want is a super easy book, especially in the summer. This is one of those novels. You’ll absolutely fly through it because it’s just so easy to read! It truly felt like such an escape-read (in all the right ways).

What I Didn’t Enjoy About West’s Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss

Honestly, the only thing I disliked was the added element of mystery that I didn’t even catch onto until 3/4 of the way through. It seemed a bit unnecessary to me and seemed to come out of nowhere. But again, I may just not like that part of the novel because I’m not a big mystery fan at all, to begin with.

Read Next  Book Review: White Space by Ilsa J. Bick

With that being said, even though it felt unnecessary, I do think that it added an interesting layer to the plot that would not have been there otherwise. It was absolutely a standout contemporary read for me and is one that will surely shine on my shelf against other contemporaries that I’ve read over the years.

If you’re looking for an easy summer read, be sure to pick up a copy of West’s Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss. It absolutely will not disappoint! I definitely want to read more of Kasie West’s novels now. I’d especially love to read the other ones that are set within this same world.

Have you read Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West? Leave a comment below!


If you liked this book, you might also like

Similar Posts

6 Comments

  1. I love Kasie West, and as always, I enjoyed this book, but I agree, the mystery element was not necessary. I actually would have liked more the romance, because I was a Donovan fan.

  2. Always enjoy Kasie's books, so I'm really looking forward to this one! Thanks for the reminder to read it – and for the Finding Wonderland visit last week. 🙂

  3. Just finished this read and thought it had the potential to develop the characters more. While it’s a fun relaxing story, it ended just when it was getting juicy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.