21 Books Similar to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

(Last Updated On: June 13, 2022)

If you’re looking for a gripping and thought-provoking book after reading The Hunger Games series, you’re in luck. There are so many books similar to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins!

After reading Collins’ series in 2012, I was immediately drawn to dystopian YA books and series. That’s why this website started in the first place! Over the years, I’ve gone down the wormhole of finding books like The Hunger Games.

Keep reading to learn about the best books similar to The Hunger Games.

A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause

First up is one of the books like Hunger Games and Divergent, A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause. It’s great because it’s a standalone novel, which completely wraps up by the end.

In A Dress for the Wicked, Autumn Krause has created a story that is both dark and captivating. The novel takes place in a world where the main character Emmy learns about a competition being held by a famous fashion house.

She joins the competition and finds that it’s a lot more corrupted and fierce than she initially thought. It has that competitiveness that The Hunger Games is well known for.

Krause’s novel is an exciting read that will leave readers eagerly anticipating her next book.

Click here to purchase a copy of A Dress for the Wicked!

Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

hand holding a green and black book cover with the title Nyxia centered on the cover

Next is one of the series like The Hunger Games, which starts with Nyxia by Scott Reintgen! This is one of the most underrated book series I’ve read in the young adult genre, and I wish it got way more praise.

Nyxia is a young adult science fiction novel part of the Nyxia Triad series. It tells the story of a group of kids with the main character Emmett, who is sent into space to compete in a game that will determine the world’s fate. The book is full of action, adventure, and suspense, and it will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end.

Emmett quickly discovers that not everyone can be trusted and must be careful if he wants to survive. Nyxia is an exciting and fast-paced novel that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Click here to purchase a copy of Nyxia!

Press Start to Play by Daniel H. Wilson

black book cover with the title press start to play in large, colored block letters

Press Start to Play is one of the must-read books if you like The Hunger Games. Like the name alludes to, it’s all about video games. 

The story doesn’t follow anyone in particular because it’s an anthology featuring tales by many great authors. Each story is different from the last. Some of them are heart-pounding, while others make you sit and think.

If you’re looking for a read that feels quick because the stories aren’t long, you’ll want to pick up a copy of Press Start to Play by Daniel H. Wilson.

Click here to purchase a copy of Press Start to Play!

Countdown by Michelle Rowen

Countdown is another of the books to read if you liked The Hunger Games. It’s a standalone novel that has competition, and it’s truly a young adult dystopian hidden gem.

In Countdown by Michelle Rowen, the main character Kira wakes up chained to Rogan only to find that they’re now part of a televised event for an audience that is paying huge amounts of money. It’s super similar to The Hunger Games in that way.

There is a lot of action and suspense, and the characters are very likable. I found myself rooting for them all to make it through alive. If you are a fan of books like The Hunger Games, you will enjoy Countdown. It is a well-written novel with an exciting plot.

Click here to purchase a copy of Countdown!

​​The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

book cover with the silhouette of a person walking through a forest and the text the 5th wave in the center

One of the series similar to Hunger Games that is a bit more well-known is The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. It was made into a movie in the early 2010s, but many people don’t know it’s also a YA book series.

Read Next  18 Books Like The Selection by Kiera Cass

Rick Yancey’s book, The 5th Wave, is a young adult novel set in the future. It tells the story of Cassie Sullivan, a teenager trying to survive in a world where aliens have invaded and are trying to take over Earth. 

The 5th Wave is an exciting, fast-paced read that keeps you turning the pages until the end. There are also not many YA alien books, so this is one to consider picking up and reading.

Click here to purchase a copy of The 5th Wave!

Gone by Michael Grant

horizontal stack of books on a bookshelf with books stacked vertically on either side

Gone is one of the dystopian books like The Hunger Games, but it’s the first book in a super long series! If you love books that will genuinely entrance you with the world from multiple points of view, then you’ll want to pick this up.

In the novel Gone, Michael Grant creates a world where all the adults have suddenly disappeared. Teenagers are now left to fend for themselves and must figure out what happened to the adults. 

The story follows a group of teens who have to fight for their survival as some start to figure out that they have superhuman-like powers, and not all are heroes. If you love the survival aspect of Collins’ series, you’ll love Gone.

Click here to purchase a copy of Gone!

Divergent by Veronica Roth

stack of 5 books laying horizontally with a row of books vertically on its left

One of the most well-known novels like The Hunger Games is the famous Divergent by Veronica Roth. It’s the first book in a series that was made into movies in the 2010s, though it was canceled before the very last film was about to be released.

Divergent is set in a future Chicago, where society is divided into five factions: Abnegation, Amity, Candor, Dauntless, and Erudite. On their sixteenth birthday, citizens must choose which faction they will devote the rest of their lives. 

Tris Prior chooses Dauntless and begins her training to become one of the most fearless members of society. 

However, as she progresses through her training, Tris discovers that she is Divergent – meaning she doesn’t fit neatly into any category. This makes her a threat to the established order and puts her life in danger. 

With the help of her newly-found friends, Tris must find out how to survive in a world where being different can mean death.

Click here to purchase a copy of Divergent!

Unwind by Neal Shusterman

black cover with a ghost like hand on it with the title unwind in the bottom left hand corner

Unwind is one of the good books like The Hunger Games. It’s a bit darker than Collins’ series, and it’s recommended for older young adult readers because of the topic of the novels.

Unwind is a book about teenagers scheduled to be “unwound” – their bodies will be taken entirely apart and put into other bodies. Parents choose to unwind their children for different reasons, whether they don’t want them or just can’t handle them.

The story follows three main characters scheduled to be unwound but run for their lives instead. They have entirely different backgrounds, and the story will keep you interested through all four books.

Click here to purchase a copy of Unwind!

​​Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

person holding the book carve the mark by veronica roth

Written by the same author of Divergent, Veronica Roth’s Carve the Mark is one of the books like The Hunger Games.

The story takes place in a world that is run by currents. It follows two different characters from different backgrounds, Cyra and Akos, who meet up as the story unfolds. It’s a story of friendship in a fantasy world and continues to a second book.

If you love Veronica Roth’s writing style and Suzanne Collins’ world-building, you will want to pick up a copy of Carve the Mark.

Click here to purchase a copy of Carve the Mark!

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

If you liked The Hunger Games, you must check out Enclave by Ann Aguirre. It’s another YA dystopian series that is underhyped.

It takes place in a future New York City where wars and sickness have ravaged to the point where most people now have to live underground in enclaves. Nobody in this world lives over the age of 20.

The main character turns 15 and ends up becoming a hunter and gets paired with another named Fade. They discover that one of the nearby enclaves was destroyed and tries to warn everyone, but the two are removed from the enclave.

It’s a really interesting story but is recommended for younger audiences.

Read Next  13 Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Click here to purchase a copy of Enclave!

The 100 by Kass Morgan

One of the more well-known books similar to The Hunger Games is The 100 by Kass Morgan. It’s also a super popular TV show on The CW. If you haven’t watched it yet, give it a try! It’s pretty different from the book series, truthfully.

In The 100, the Earth is uninhabitable, and the last humans live in a space station. They decide to send 100 juvenile delinquents back to Earth to see if it’s livable. When they arrive, they must find a way to survive and fix the problems their predecessors created.

The 100 is an excellent book for fans of The Hunger Games. It has many of the same elements: a group of young people who must fight for survival, a corrupt government, and an epic romance.

Click here to purchase a copy of The 100!

The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse

person holding a green and yellow gradient book with the title defiant in yellow text

The Forsaken is relatively underrated in the young adult dystopian genre! It’s the first book in an epic series with a storyline perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

The story follows a girl named Alenna who lives in a world where everyone must take a test when they turn sixteen. However, she fails the test and then is sent to an island called The Wheel because of her failure.

Those who live on The Wheel normally don’t live that long because the conditions are far from good. So, she and the rest of the island work to survive and try to flee the island alive. This story has a gripping romance, and the plot is so interesting.

Click here to purchase a copy of The Forsaken!

Cinder by Melissa Meyer

book cover showing the metal inside the bottom of a leg in a red high heel and the text cinder, the lunar chronicles

One of the absolute best books similar to The Hunger Games is Cinder by Melissa Meyer! It’s the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series, a set of books that retell popular fairy tales with a unique science fiction twist.

Cinder tells the story of a cyborg girl named Cinder who is living in New Beijing. She is trying to escape her fate and find her place in the world. When Prince Kai unexpectedly asks her to fix his android, she seizes the opportunity to be closer to him. 

But Cinder’s life turns for the worse when she becomes a suspect in a deadly conspiracy. With the help of her friends, she must uncover the truth before it’s too late!

What makes this series so great is that each of the books follows a different character and storyline. They all end up meeting up together as the series goes on!

Click here to purchase a copy of Cinder!

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

hand holding the bone season book by samantha shannon

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon is one of the books like The Hunger Games for adults. It’s definitely for an older audience but is a thrilling story with an exciting world.

The Bone Season is the first book in a seven-book series by Samantha Shannon. The story is set in the future, where clairvoyants are hunted and imprisoned by the government. 

Paige, a clairvoyant, is captured by the government and sent to Oxford, where she is forced to train under Warden. The storyline in this book is incredible, and the characters will make you want to keep reading.

Click here to purchase a copy of The Bone Season!

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

hand holding a paperback book out in front of a row of books on a shelf

Though it is an older book, Uglies by Scott Westerfeld is an absolute must-read if you read and loved The Hunger Games

Uglies is a book by Scott Westerfeld that takes place in a future world where everyone is required to have surgery at age 16 to make them beautiful. Tally is an “ugly” who has always been curious about the outside world and the life she’s been promised once she becomes pretty. 

Tally’s best friend Shay doesn’t want to become pretty, so she runs away. Tally is faced with chasing after her and bringing her home or living life as ugly forever. 

She meets up with a group of “rebels,” who shows her that the world is not as perfect as she thought it was. The rebels teach her how to be independent and how to think for herself. Tally also falls in love with one of the rebels and learns that true beauty comes from within.

Click here to purchase a copy of Uglies!

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

hand holding the book ready player one by ernest cline in front of a row of other books

In Ready Player One, Wade Watts is a teenager living in a future world where the only escape is the virtual world of the OASIS. 

When the creator of the OASIS dies, he leaves behind a challenge for anyone who wants to inherit his fortune. The first person to find the Easter egg hidden inside the OASIS will win. Wade finds a clue and soon enough finds himself in the middle of a competition that’s so jam-packed.

Read Next  18 Books Like The Selection by Kiera Cass

Ready Player One is a fast-paced adventure story that keeps you hooked until the end. It’s reminiscent of books like The Hunger Games, where teenagers are forced to fight for survival. If you’re looking for an exciting read that will make you think about the future of technology, then Ready Player One is for you.

Click here to purchase a copy of Ready Player One!

Partials by Dan Wells

Partials by Dan Wells is a fascinating futuristic tale on Long Island. It follows the main character Kira who lives in a world where humanity is pretty much gone except for a select few due to a war with Partials which are similar to human beings but were engineered.

Kira goes out to try to figure out what caused the war and finds that there are some dark answers behind everything that has happened. She works to try to save both the humans and the Partials together.

The story is an excellent conversation about survival and civilization that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It’s also part of a series called the Partials Sequence.

Click here to purchase a copy of Partials!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

white book cover with an upside down crown with blood dripping from it and the title red queen in black text

Even though it’s one of the more popular book series in the YA genre, Red Queen is one of the great books like The Hunger Games. It’s another one that’s part of a series.

In Red Queen, seventeen-year-old Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with red blood and those with silver blood with special powers. 

Mare has red blood, or so she thinks until it’s uncovered that she has a power of her own. Soon enough, she’s swept up into the royalty and set up to be with the king’s nephew. It’s similar to The Hunger Games because of its survival aspect.

Click here to purchase a copy of Red Queen!

#MurderTrending by Gretchen McNeil

This is one of the more unique reads that not enough people know about! #MurderTrending is a thriller novel by Gretchen McNeil. The book is set in the future where social media and reality TV have merged, and the public can vote to kill people they see as criminals through The Postman App.

It follows the main character Dee Guerrera who realizes that she’s set up to become the next person featured on the app for a crime that she never even committed. 

The book has been praised for its fast-paced plot and its exploration of the effects of social media on society. It has been compared to books such as The Hunger Games and Divergent.

Click here to purchase a copy of #MurderTrending!

Matched by Ally Condie

person holding the book matched by ally condie in front of a row of books on a bookcase

Though it’s not as dark as Collins’ novel, Matched by Ally Condie is one of the books similar to The Hunger Games

Matched is set in a world where the government decides who you marry. Cassia is matched with her best friend but then sees a flash of another match on her screen before it turns black. 

As she begins questioning the society she lives in, Cassia realizes that not everything is as it seems. It’s the first book in a trilogy, and the story just ramps up from book to book, keeping readers guessing until the end.

Click here to purchase a copy of Matched!

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

hardcover copy of under the never sky by veronica rossi held in front of a row of books

Last but not least is Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi! In this story, Aria is a young girl who has lived in a world enclosed in a dome called Reverie for her entire life. 

When her mother goes missing, she is forced to leave the only home she’s ever known and venture into the “outside” world for the first time. She meets a boy named Perry, and they quickly become allies as they both try to find their way in this new place. 

The world outside of the dome is vastly different than what they are used to, and it isn’t long before they realize that things are not always as they seem.

Click here to purchase a copy of Under the Never Sky!

This post was all about books similar to The Hunger Games. You’ll love it no matter what book you decide to read! What other books in the YA dystopian genre have you read? Leave a comment below!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.