18 Books Like The Selection by Kiera Cass

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

(Last Updated On: June 13, 2022)

If you read The Selection by Kiera Cass and absolutely loved it as I did, then you’re in luck. There are many YA books like The Selection!

I’ve compiled a list of amazing YA books like The Selection series so you can continue reading in a similar genre. As a dystopian lover myself, I’ve read tons of books within this genre to try to find books that are perfect for fans of the series.

Here are all of the best books like The Selection by Kiera Cass!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

hardcover book with black background and gold mocking jay pin with the title The hunger games at the top

First up is The Hunger Games, one of the books like The Selection. It’s similar due to the romance sprinkled throughout the series but is a bit more action-packed than Kass’s novel. However, it does also have a similar competition aspect!

In this story, Katniss Everdeen voluntarily takes her younger sister’s place in the Hunger Games, a televised event in which two children from each of the twelve districts of Panem are randomly chosen to fight to the death. 

Katniss is determined to survive for her sister’s sake. Peeta Mellark, a boy she has known since childhood, is also chosen. The game begins…

The Hunger Games is an edge-of-your-seat thriller that keeps you captivated until the end. Suzanne Collins’ story of Katniss Everdeen, a girl who volunteers to take her younger sister’s place in the Hunger Games, is one you won’t want to put down!

Purchase a copy of The Hunger Games here!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

white book cover with an upside down crown with blood dripping from it and the title red queen in black text

Red Queen is one of the books similar to The Selection! It features a similar royalty aspect, so fans of Kass’s novel will immensely enjoy this series.

In Red Queen, the reader follows the main character Mare, who lives in a world divided between the Reds (who have no abilities) and the Silvers (who have superhuman powers). However, she finds she has a unique ability and ends up getting matched with one of the King’s sons.

It’s one of those books that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Luckily, it’s part of a series so that readers will stay busy for a while in this world!

Purchase a copy of Red Queen here!

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

hand holding a paperback copy of the maze runner in front of a bookcase

Another of the books similar to The Selection series is The Maze Runner by James Dashner. It’s another dystopian tale that’s part of a series, and parts of it also feel somewhat like a competition of sorts.

In The Maze Runner, by James Dashner, a group of boys is imprisoned in a giant maze. They have no memory of their past and only the faintest idea of what lies outside the labyrinth. 

Every day, the boys are forced to run through the maze in an attempt to find an exit. One day, a new boy arrives in the maze, and he seems to know more about it than anyone else. Together, the boys must figure out how to escape the maze before it’s too late.

The Maze Runner is a fast-paced thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you’re looking for a book like The Selection by Kiera Cass, you should check out The Maze Runner.

Purchase a copy of The Maze Runner here!

Gone by Michael Grant

horizontal stack of books on a bookshelf with books stacked vertically on either side

Though it’s an older young adult dystopian book, Gone by Michael Grant is one of the books to read if you like The Selection. It’s part of a long series and includes a futuristic world where children develop special powers.

Gone is a book about a group of teens trying to survive in a world where adults have disappeared. The kids have to figure out how to live on their own, and they also have to deal with the monsters that are now living in the world. 

Read Next  13 Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

If you start reading this book, just know that you will get sucked in. It’s a long story, and the writer always adds more books to the series!

Purchase a copy of Gone here!

Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

hand holding a green and black book cover with the title Nyxia centered on the cover

Another of The Selection similar books is Nyxia by Scott Reintgen. It’s genuinely one of the most underrated books to read in the dystopian genre, and it’s one that I still think fondly of even years after finishing it.

In the future, the human race has depleted Earth’s resources and must find a new home. Ten juvenile delinquents are chosen to travel to an alien planet and compete for a chance to inherit the earth. 

Emmett is one of the chosen, and he must leave his family behind. He quickly realizes that the other contestants are not there to make friends and must do whatever it takes to win. Emmett suspects one of his competitors when a valuable piece of equipment goes missing. 

Can he find the missing object before it’s too late? Nyxia is an exciting read with plenty of action and suspense, with a competitive vibe similar to The Selection!

Purchase a copy of Nyxia here!

Divergent by Veronica Roth

stack of 5 books laying horizontally with a row of books vertically on its left

One of the most well-known book series like The Selection is Divergent by Veronica Roth. It was popularly made into a movie series in the early 2010s but got canceled before the final part of the third book was produced.

Divergent is a story about a young girl named Tris who lives in a divided society into factions. When Tris turns 16, she must choose which faction she wants to belong to for the rest of her life. 

She chooses Dauntless, which is the faction for brave people. At Dauntless, Tris must learn how to fight and survive. She also meets Four, a handsome instructor who helps her train, and eventually falls in love with her. 

However, Tris soon realizes that all is not as it seems in her new faction, and she must find out what is going on before it’s too late.

Purchase a copy of Divergent here!

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

gray and white hardcover book with a woman in a white dress and the title Shatter me at the bottom

Shatter Me is one of the series like The Selection! It features a dystopian society in the young adult genre and is covered with much more romance than meets the eye. It’s also one of the most beautifully written young adult series.

Juliette has been held captive for many days in a world where the government controls everything. She’s the most dangerous person alive, and her touch is fatal. 

But when she meets Adam, a boy who seems to understand her, everything begins to change. Juliette starts questioning the government’s control and wonders what life might be like if she were free. 

With heart-pounding action and an unforgettable romance, Shatter Me is a must-read for fans of dystopian fiction.

Purchase a copy of Shatter Me here!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

person holding a hardcover copy of a court of thorns and roses by sarah j maas

For those who loved the romance aspect of Kass’s novel, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass is one of the books similar to The Selection series. It’s not as PG as Kass’s series and is recommended for an older YA audience and older. It’s also part of fantasy books more than dystopian!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass is a thrilling retelling of the Beauty and the Beast story. When 19-year-old Feyre kills a wolf in the forest outside her home, she expects to be punished – but instead, the mysterious High Lord Tamlin invites her to his own magical court.

There, she discovers that he has been cursed, and his beautiful surroundings are slowly dying. Feyre agrees to stay and help Tamlin break the curse, but her feelings for him grow stronger as she does. 

However, war is brewing, and Feyre must find a way to save both herself and Tamlin before it’s too late.

Fans of The Selection series by Kiera Cass will love A Court of Thorns and Roses. It has all of the elements that make those books so addictive: romance, intrigue, magic, and adventure.

Purchase a copy of A Court of Thorns and Roses here!

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

book cover with a woman in dark clothes and swirling white hair with the title throne of glass at the bottom

If you’re looking for more books like The Selection, check out Throne of Glass. It consists of a badass young adult heroine who will immediately draw you into her story. Also, world-building is top-notch for a young adult novel.

Read Next  21 Books Similar to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The story follows the journey of Celaena Sardothien, an assassin who has been imprisoned for years. When she is given a chance to earn her freedom, she must compete in a competition to become the king’s champion. 

Along the way, she makes friends and enemies and discovers her true identity. Plus, there’s also a lot of romance and intrigue!

Purchase a copy of Throne of Glass here!

The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan

hand holding a paperback copy of the royal we

One of the romance books like The Selection is The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan. It’s more of an adult read, but YA fans will also fairly enjoy it.

It is a satire of the royals, similar to The Princess Diaries. The main character is Bex, who goes to Oxford in England. There, she meets a boy named Nick and falls in love with him, but he just happens to be royalty.

The Royal We is a fun, and light read, perfect for fans of books like The Selection by Kiera Cass. I loved the characters and their interactions, and I found myself laughing out loud throughout the book. 

If you’re looking for a funny and charming take on the royals, then be sure to check out The Royal We!

Purchase a copy of The Royal We here!

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

book cover with the silhouette of a person walking through a forest and the text the 5th wave in the center

If you liked the dystopian setting in The Selection, try picking up a copy of The 5th Wave. It’s more about aliens than anything else, but the world-building is incredible. It was also made into a movie a while ago!

The 5th Wave, written by Rick Yancey and published in 2013, is the first book in a young adult science fiction trilogy. The novel follows 16-year-old Cassie Sullivan as she survives in a world that has been taken over by aliens. 

The first wave of the invasion was a massive EMP blast that knocked out all power and communication. The second wave was more of a literal wave which caused massive weather issues like tsunamis. The third wave was a literal plague that got rid of a lot of the human population. The fourth wave was when the aliens began disguising themselves as humans in order to infiltrate society. And the fifth wave is when it all goes to hell!

Cassie spends most of her time on the run, trying to stay ahead of the aliens and find her younger brother Sammy, who has been taken captive by them. This is one of those reads that will keep you flipping through the pages so fast because you’ll just want to know what happens next.

Purchase a copy of The 5th Wave here!

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

black book cover with a golden circle outline and the title the immortal rules in the center

One of the underrated books like The Selection is The Immortal Rules by Julia Kagawa. It has a similar romance aspect and also takes place in a futuristic world, but this one is overrun by vampires.

The Immortal Rules is a post-apocalyptic vampire novel with a strong female protagonist. In a future world where vampires have taken over, and humans do what they can to stay alive everyday, Allison Sekemoto chooses to fight back and winds up becoming one of them – the blood-sucking predators she once feared. 

Allison’s journey to warrior is full of action and suspense, and her relationships with her fellow vampires are complex and compelling. This is a fast-paced read that will leave you thirsty for more. If you’re looking for a new dystopian series to sink your teeth into, try The Immortal Rules.

Purchase a copy of The Immortal Rules here!

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

hand holding across the universe book by beth revis

One of my personal favorite books similar to The Selection is Across the Universe by Beth Revis. It’s another trilogy series but this one mostly takes place on a spaceship and still has the same futuristic world vibes.

The novel is set in the future and follows Amy who is supposed to be asleep on a ship but she finds herself woken up far too early. She initially thought that it was a tech failure, but finds out that there’s a lot more to it than that.

Across the Universe features a sweeping romance and a fast-paced storyline. If you’re anything like me, you’ll find yourself flipping through the pages so fast!

Purchase a copy of Across the Universe here!

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium by Lauren Oliver is perfect for fans of Kass’s The Selection series. It takes place in a futuristic society where love is illegal, but still has a great romance, as you might imagine!

Read Next  21 Books Similar to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

It tells the story of Lena, a girl who lives in a society where love is forbidden. It’s almost seen as a disease of sorts. Once you’re of age, you’re given a procedure that makes it so you can’t love anymore.

Before long, she meets a group of rebels who are going against the procedure and what the government says is true! Delirium has all the excitement and romance of The Selection but with a darker twist. It’s also a trilogy with other novellas added to make the world even more interesting.

Purchase a copy of Delirium here!

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

hardcover copy of under the never sky by veronica rossi held in front of a row of books

For another trilogy like The Selection series, consider picking up Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. It features romance and an action-packed story that will make you wish it was longer than just three books.

​​In Veronica Rossi’s Under the Never Sky, Aria is a teenager who has spent her life living in a protected dome city known as Reverie. After being exiled from her home, she’s sent to live in The Death Shop.

With the help of Perry, an Outsider she was taught to fear and hate, Aria learns to survive in a world that is drastically different from the one she knows.

Under the Never Sky is a fast-paced and exciting read that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. The romance between Aria and Perry is believable and heartwarming, and the action scenes are well-written. 

Purchase a copy of Under the Never Sky here!

Unwind by Neal Shusterman

black cover with a ghost like hand on it with the title unwind in the bottom left hand corner

The Unwind Dystology is a four book series from Neal Shusterman. It’s a lot darker than The Selection, but if you love dystopian novels, it’s worth checking this one out.

Neal Shusterman’s New York Times bestselling novel, Unwind, is a gripping and provocative story of a world where parents can order their children to be unwound: surgically deconstructed into their component body parts.

Connor is one of the teens who was scheduled to be unwound, but he escapes and goes on the run with his friend Risa, another teen who was slated for unwinding. The two must evade bounty hunters as they travel from state to state, trying to find a way to save Connor’s life.

Unwind is a thought-provoking and frightening look at what it means to be alive and human. It is recommended for older readers because of the topics that it explores.

Purchase a copy of Unwind here!

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

hand holding grey and orange book with The Hunt in large letters in the middle of the cover

The Hunt is another vampire dystopian series that is truly underrated! It has romance while also taking place in a futuristic world.

In The Hunt, Andrew Fukuda has created a blood-curdling and heart-pounding story of survival against all odds. Gene, the teenage protagonist, is one of the last humans left on earth after a vampire virus decimated the population. 

In order to survive, Gene pretends to be one of them, even though it’s a full-fledged human. It’s a very interesting take on vampire stories that hasn’t been done before.

What makes The Hunt so compelling is that Gene is actually chosen to be part of “The Hunt” which is when vampires go out to try to get rid of the last remaining humans, but he himself is also one. As you might imagine, he also makes friends along the way.

And while there are plenty of gruesome scenes involving vampires getting their throats ripped out, Fukuda doesn’t shy away from exploring the emotional side of this post-apocalyptic world.

Purchase a copy of The Hunt here!

Matched by Ally Condie

person holding the book matched by ally condie in front of a row of books on a bookcase

Last but certainly not least is Matched by Ally Condie, which is technically a dystopian but reads a bit more like a YA contemporary, sort of like The Selection. It’s great for all YA readers.

Matched is the first book in a young adult dystopian trilogy by Ally Condie. In a future society where people are matched through a computer program to their perfect life partner, 17-year-old Cassia Reyes discovers that her match is not who she expected. 

When her best friend Xander is revealed to be her match, Cassia begins to question the society she has always trusted. With the help of a resistance group called the Rising, Cassia must find a way to escape before she is forced into a life she does not want!

Purchase a copy of Matched here!

This post was all about the best books like The Selection. Don’t forget to share this post for other readers who also want a great read!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.