13 Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

(Last Updated On: June 13, 2022)

Did you read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas and absolutely love it? You’re in luck because since you loved ACOTAR, there are so many other books similar to it in the YA genre that you can read next. This post is all about the best books like A Court of Thorns and Roses!

Whether you loved ACOTAR for the romance, the fantasy, or something else, each book on this list has been carefully chosen as a recommendation for you. Some of them are great for their romance, their fantasy-like creatures, or even their royalty.

Keep reading to learn all about the best books like A Court of Thorns and Roses!

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

book cover with a woman in dark clothes and swirling white hair with the title throne of glass at the bottom

First up is one of the most well-known books like ACOTAR, and that’s because it’s also by Sarah J Maas: Throne of Glass. This series is a little bit more fantasy and adventure-driven than A Court of Thorns and Roses but is still worth picking up if you love Maas’s writing style.

The story follows Celaena, an assassin who is fighting for her freedom from the king. If she wins, she will become the king’s champion. It’s filled with romance, strong world-building, and heart-pumping scenes that will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time.

Grab your copy of Throne of Glass here!

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

person holding a paperback coy of iron king bookp

The Iron King by Julia Kagawa is another of the books similar to A Court of Thorns and Roses because of its focus on fae.

It’s part of The Iron Fey series, which consists of ten books – some of which won’t be fully released until 2023. There are also multiple novellas that make up this series, so if you love more extended series, then you’ll love The Iron Fey.

The story follows Meghan Chase, who quickly finds out that she is actually a faery king’s daughter and is immediately swept up into a riveting storyline. She has to fight while also falling in love with a prince, so it’s perfect for fans of ACOTAR.

Grab your copy of The Iron King here!

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

gray and white hardcover book with a woman in a white dress and the title Shatter me at the bottom

If you’re looking for books similar to ACOTAR because of the heart-pumping romance and love triangle, then you have to check out the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. It’s another six-book series with multiple spin-offs told through the eyes of different characters that you learn to love.

Read Next  25 Best Bookstores Around the World

It’s similar to Maas’s tale because the main character starts off loving one character only for a whole new character to be introduced that you genuinely do hate at first. Before long, you have to choose your favorite along with the main character, and one of them might just be a villain.

The story follows Juliette, who hasn’t been able to touch anyone because she’s been locked up by The Reestablishment for murdering someone. Her touch is lethal, and she lives in a world that’s falling apart.

Grab your copy of Shatter Me here!

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

white book cover with blue vines circle the works shiver in the center
book cover with red robed person holding a weapon with the title scythe at the top

If you’re looking for books similar to A Court of Thorns and Roses, then be sure to check out Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. Shiver is the starting novel to the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, a trilogy featuring one extra book through another fan-favorite character’s eyes.

As far as to why it’s similar to ACOTAR, it’s because it features a wonderful YA romance but also has that element of fantasy. The main character is a human who falls in love with a werewolf and gets swept up into this other world.

Shiver follows Grace, who has always noticed that there were wolves in her backyard. It turns out that one of them is a boy named Sam, who she immediately recognizes because his eyes look just like the wolves from her backyard. Before long, they fall in love as other issues arise because Sam can’t stay human during the winter months.

Grab your copy of Shiver here!

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

book cover with red robed person holding a weapon with the title scythe at the top

Did you love the world-building in Maas’s novel? Then you’ll want to check out Scythe by Neal Shusterman. It’s one of the A Court of Thorns and Roses similar books that will genuinely just sweep you up into the story and take you away from the normal world.

The story follows two different characters, Citra and Rowan. They’ve each been picked to be a scythe’s apprentice, and they have to learn how to take lives from others. They didn’t choose this life; it chose them.

Note that this story actually doesn’t have romance, and it doesn’t need it. The story itself is truly gripping enough to the point where you don’t even realize there isn’t romance!

Grab your copy of Scythe here!

The Selection by Kiera Cass

paperback book with woman in a large blue dress with the title the selection at the bottom

One of the best series like A Court of Thorns and Roses, for those who love the royalty aspect, should check out The Selection series by Kiera Cass. 

It consists of the main trilogy following the same characters, as well as three more books that were added afterward. There are also multiple novellas to keep you happy between reading the larger books.

The Selection follows America Singer, who was picked to be part of The Selection for Prince Maxon, which is sort of a similar concept to The Bachelor. She, along with 35 other girls, has to compete essentially all to win his hand at marriage.

Read Next  21 Books Similar to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Grab your copy of The Selection here!

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Another series like ACOTAR is The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (the same author of Shiver), which is part of The Raven Cycle quartet. It’s a four-book series that will keep you on the edge of your seat from book to book.

The series follows the main character Blue Sargent whose mom is clairvoyant. She ends up befriending a guy named Gansey, who is one of the Raven Boys from nearby Aglionby, a private school in the area.

She’s treading carefully, though; she’s always been told that she will most likely be the reason that her true love will die. If you love the fantasy and romance of ACOTAR, then you’ll genuinely love The Raven Boys.

Grab your copy of The Raven Boys here!

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

black book cover with a golden circle outline and the title the immortal rules in the center

While it’s not about fae, The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa is part of the Blood of Eden series, a series like ACOTAR. It does have that romance aspect as well as the fantasy/paranormal vibe because it’s all about vampires in a futuristic world.

The story follows Allison Sekemoto, who lives in a world ravaged by vampire monsters who come out at night. She lives in the Fringe, an area that’s not that safe, and she spends her days trying to get by with her crew. However, one night, she accidentally becomes one of the monsters.

Think of this series sort of like a faster-pcaed version of ACOTAR featuring vampires. Each book progresses the story in a way that will keep you flipping the pages so fast.

Grab your copy of The Immortal Rules here!

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is one of the books to read if you like ACOTAR. It’s a YA fantasy with romance, magic, and adventure. It’s also the start of the Six of Crows series, so if you’re the type of person that doesn’t like standalone, you’ll love this one. 

The story follows Kaz Brekker, who is a criminal prodigy, and he’s offered an opportunity to take part in a deadly heist. The catch? It can make him incredibly rich. He ends up teaming up with a whole bunch of other characters as the story unfolds and progresses.

Grab your copy of Six of Crows here!

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

hand holding the book hush hush in front of a bookcase

Hush, Hush may be an older YA series, but it’s still worth picking up! It’s the first book in a quarter by Becca Fitzpatrick. Instead of the story following fae, it’s all about angels and still has that solid paranormal/fantasy romance strewn throughout every book.

The book follows the main character named Nora Grey, who meets a guy named Patch. She’s immediately drawn to him and is weirded out at the same time that she’s sort of falling for him. It turns out that an ancient battle ensues, and she’s right in the middle of it.

Read Next  18 Books Like The Selection by Kiera Cass

Grab your copy of Hush, Hush here!

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Another of the ACOTAR similar books is Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin. It’s the first book in the Serpent & Dove series, and it’s a reasonably popular book in the YA genre.

It is more about witches and magic than fae but still has that strong fantasy element to it. Of course, there’s also a bit of romance to keep you interested!

The story follows two different characters: Louise le Blanc, a witch, and Reid Diggory, who was sworn in to hunt witches. They end up crossing paths, and the entire story sort of unravels from there… I’m sure you can guess where it goes!

Grab your copy of Serpent & Dove here!

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Kristin Cashore’s Graceling is perfect for fans of ACOTAR if you love the fantasy aspect of the story! This series is all about fantasy, and the characters will truly draw you in from the very first page, which is what makes it such a great series.

The story follows Katsa, who has the skill of being able to kill a man with her bare hands, which is something not many in her land can do. She’s also the king’s niece (so it has a royalty aspect) and ends up falling for none other than a prince.

Before long, she learns all about her magic ability and what it really means, as well as the many secrets that come along with it. Kristin Cashore’s writing style is impeccable and keeps you interested throughout the tale.

Grab your copy of Graceling here!

Beastly by Alex Flinn

This list wouldn’t be complete without including at least one other YA Beauty and the Beast retelling. Beastly was also made into a movie a while ago, so it may even be a story that you’re familiar with.

It follows the main character, Kyle, who used to have it all but used it all to his advantage. He gets a spell cast on him, and now he spends his days hiding away. That is until he ends up falling in love with a girl.

After reading this book, be sure to watch the movie if you haven’t yet. It includes great actors like Mary-Kate Olsen, Vanessa Hudges, and Alex Pettyfer.

Grab your copy of Beastly here!

This post was all about books like A Court of Thorns and Roses. Don’t forget to save this post for later! Have you read any of these books? Leave a comment below.

Check out our reviews for some of these books below:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.