The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon | ReviewThe Mime Order by Samantha Shannon
Series: The Bone Season #2
on January 27, 2015
Genres: Dystopian
Pages: 510
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London...
As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city's gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.
Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

(Last Updated On: November 1, 2021)

After reading the first book in this series, The Bone Season, I instantly picked up my ARC of The Mime Order and delved right back into Paige and her adventures in Scion. In The Mime Order, Paige goes back with her work with Jaxon Hall, her mime-lord. She originally didn’t want to go back to Jaxon, but after being talked to a lot by Nick and considering the fact that she is one of Scion’s most wanted, she knows that she needs protection so she goes back to him.   That was one of my favorite things about this book-learning more about the illustrious Jaxon Hall. Not much was really learned about him from book one, though he really started to become one of my favorite characters of all time while reading this sequel. Just the way he talks and acts, like he’s upper class and the world revolves around him because he knows at the end of the day that he will always get what he wants. Plus, Jax seems to always be one-or sometimes two-steps ahead of everybody.   Nick plays an important role in this book as well. After learning more about him from Paige’s memories in the first book, we now know that she did have quite the crush on him until finding out that Nick has a massive crush on Zeke, another one of the Seven Seals. I really loved the friendship between Paige and Nick; they’ve known each other for so long and Nick is actually the one that got Paige into this underground world of Scion and got her the job with Jaxon Hall. Nick is always there for Paige, always protecting her and if she is in trouble, he is there as soon as he can be.   I found the use of propaganda and penny-dreadfuls in this novel to be very interesting, especially when Paige and the rest of the survivors from Oxford publish one. I recently found out that this is going to be quite a lengthy series, and I’m so excited about that! The Bone Season series has quickly become one of my top favorites, because it’s set in a futuristic London and it’s filled with suspense, magic, and epic friendship and romance. This sequel was just as entertaining if not more than book one, and I’m excited to see what’s in store with book three-especially after this ending. Sadly, this review is much shorter than my review for book one, but I’m scared that I’ll give away too much! Just know that this is a series that you MUST check out!

Read Next  Looking for Alaska by John Green | Review

Have you read this novel? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Also, check out this awesome clip from the Audible audiobook!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.