I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest | ReviewI Am Princess X on May 26, 2015
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 256
Format: ARC
Goodreads

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen; illustrated throughout with comics.
Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.
Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.
Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.
Princess X?
When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There's an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby's story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon---her best friend, Libby, who lives.

(Last Updated On: November 1, 2021)
Read Next  The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | Review

Though many of you may not know it, I’m the biggest comic book fan. I love reading comics and graphic novels about zombies, video gaming adventures, and superheroes. They’re just super fun and interesting to read. That’s why the moment that I heard about this book, I knew that I would absolutely love it. I’m here to tell you that my hunch was right.

May and Libby were close friends when they were younger. They created the character of Princess X, who went on tons of dazzling adventures with her converse and katana sword. Libby and May continued to be friends until the point where Libby got in an accident and died, as her body was found dead by a river. May just doesn’t believe that she’s really gone, especially a few years later when she finds drawings of Princess X around town.

After Libby’s death, May went over to Libby’s house to get the Princess X stories but the stories were already gone, so it was strange to suddenly have a character so secretive start turning up as graffiti and wall art. May even began to find people who had Princess X on their shirts as pins. Turns out that there’s a whole website dedicated to Princess X, but they are all completely new stories. As May begins to search more and look into this website, she realizes that it’s interwoven with hidden easter eggs and clues, which leads her to believe that Libby really is alive.

My favorite aspect of this book would have to be that it perfectly combines comic pictures and storytelling. As a reader, you’ll be reading the book and then as May begins to read the Princess X stories online, you’ll be able to read them too because they were drawn into the book. It was an overall great experience, because instead of May explaining to others what she had read, you got to read it first hand.

Read Next  After Hours by Claire Kennedy | Review

I also loved the friendship between May and Trick. May calls Trick after finding his number on a paper to call in case of computer problems because she couldn’t get her computer to turn on. The two of them become close friends. For some reason, I kept expecting a romance to spark between the two, but I love how Priest kept the two of them just as friends. It was very refreshing to read because of that.

I know for sure that I’ll be buying a print copy of this (and probably a few extras too, to give to friends) and I definitely think that you should too! I’ll be sure to read more by Priest in the future.

Have you read this book? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Similar Posts

16 Comments

  1. Great review!
    Really glad to see you enjoyed this one. My friends and I just saw something about this this morning and now we all really want to read it. We're thinking about doing it for our book club.
    This just looks really cool and i'm hoping to read it soon.

  2. I started this book but didn't finsish it. i still will go back and finish but it didn't grab me as muc h as I wanted it too. great review though glad you liked it.

  3. First I must say great review, I really want to read this book now! Second (this is a blogging question) how do you get that blue box around the blurb of the book, I've been wanting to to it to my blog but don't know how too.
    Happy reading,
    KayCee K.

  4. I am really looking forward to this one! I've read other books by Cherie Priest (Boneshaker, Bloodshot), but this sounds completely different. Great review!

  5. I really really enjoyed this one, I need to get my hands on a finished copy for sure. I loved the mix of web comics with the storyline. The friendship is on point for sure! I agree completely, that it was really nice that romance took a back seat to this storyline. Great review 🙂

    Ashley @The Quiet Concert

  6. Great review. I've been on the edge, hesitating on reading this one but your review inspiried me. I'm adding it to my TBR as we speak. Happy reading!

  7. There seems to be a lot of new and exciting graphic novels coming out lately (even this now isn't all comics)! This and Nimona have been on my radar lately. Maybe I should start looking more into this new trend!
    – Lina @ Every Book a World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.