A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck | Review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Please read full disclosure for more information.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck | ReviewA Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on September 26, 2017
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 272
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The unrequited love of the girl next door is the centerpiece of this fiercely funny, yet heart-breaking debut novel.

Fifteen-year-old Matt Wainwright is in turmoil. He can’t tell his lifelong best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her; his promising basketball skills are being overshadowed by his attitude on the court, and the only place he feels normal is in English class, where he can express his inner thoughts in quirky poems and essays. Matt is desperately hoping that Tabby will reciprocate his feelings; but then Tabby starts dating Liam Branson, senior basketball star and all-around great guy. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough; but, as Matt soon discovers, he’s close to losing everything that matters most to him.

(Last Updated On: June 10, 2022)

I’m going to start this review by saying that A Short History of the Girl Next Door is honestly perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews or John Green. As the writing of this novel is literally on that level of greatness. After saying that, I’m not going to give a lot away in this review because I think it’s a whole lot of stuff that you’ve got to experience for yourself.

Read Next  Smash & Grab by Amy Christine Parker | Review

You’ll absolutely fall in love with Matt. He goes through a lot of ups and downs and is falling for the girl across the street from him, Tabby. Matt also has his funny moments, and that’s where he reminded me of some of Andrews’ characters from Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.  

Throughout A Short History of the Girl Next Door, you’re going to experience so much heartbreak, and this book will make you feel a whole lot of feels, maybe some you didn’t even know you had.   

FYI, this isn’t a love story, but it is an amazing contemporary.

You might like these too:

Similar Posts

One Comment

  1. I am starting this tonight, and you totally grabbed me with Andrews and Green (love them both!). I am trying to prepare myself for the heartbreak. I am such a total sap, so I better keep the tissues nearby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.