You Owe Me A Murder by Eileen Cook | Review

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

You Owe Me A Murder by Eileen Cook | ReviewYou Owe Me a Murder by Eileen Cook
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on March 5, 2019
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
Rating:

Seventeen-year-old Kim gets more than she bargained for when she is set up for murder. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, E. Lockhart, and Gillian Flynn.

17-year-old Kim never expected to plot a murder. But that was before her boyfriend dumped her for another girl. Now, Kim’s stuck on a class trip to London with him and his new soulmate and she can’t help wishing he was a little bit dead, even if she’d never really do that.   But when Kim meets Nicki, a stranger on the plane who’s more than willing to listen to Kim’s woes, things start to look up. Nicki's got a great sense of humor, and when she jokes about swapping murders, Kim plays along—that is, until Kim’s ex-boyfriend mysteriously dies.   Blackmailed by Nicki to fulfill her end of the deal, Kim will have to commit a murder or take the fall for one.  

So, as some of you may know, I’m not the biggest fan of mysteries. Yet, there was something about You Owe Me A Murder that immediately drew me in and caught my attention.

I loved the plot line behind this book. The main character, Kim, is stuck going on a trip to London over the summer with her ex-boyfriend and his new girlfriend. She meets a girl named Nicki on the plane ride over, and they immediately sort of connect and joke about killing her ex-boyfriend. Kim ends up thinking nothing of it, but then the stakes get raised high pretty quickly. Interesting, right!?

The twists don’t stop there either. The plot takes a whole bunch of crazy turns, some of which I didn’t see coming, so I give Eileen Cook major props for that. I usually hate mysteries because I can guess where the storyline is going, but that wasn’t the case with this book.

I also really loved Kim as a main character. She was struggling internally because of the murders throughout this whole book, and I felt for her. I don’t know what I would have done if I was caught in her shoes. I also loved Alex, the boy who teams up with Kim throughout the story and is always there for her. He was really clever and funny and ultimately cared for Kim through everything, no matter what.

My only struggle with You Owe Me A Murder is the ending, which is why I’m giving it four stars. It just felt like it was leading up to this really big ending and then it just sort of finished, and I was left wanting a little bit more of a jam-packed ending. I don’t know, I may be the outlier on this one though. Despite that, I really loved the book and all of the twists.

Comment

19 Comments

  • Aline @ Fully Booked
    04.10.2019

    I don’t usually read mysteries, but this review makes me want to give this one a try ahaha. I’m so glad you enjoyed this! 🙂

    • Krystianna
      Aline @ Fully Booked
      04.10.2019

      I usually don’t read mysteries either, but this one surprised me! I can always guess the ending before it happens usually. :/

  • verushka
    04.10.2019

    Ahh, this sounds so good! I love the idea of all this happening from the conversation with Nicki and then getting to be this fabulous thriller.

  • Jessica at Booked J
    04.10.2019

    I am just here to say I’M READING MY ARC OF THIS RIGHT NOW and I’m stoked to read your review after I finish and write my own review. BYE!!

    • Krystianna
      Jessica at Booked J
      04.11.2019

      Hahaha I hope you’re enjoying the book so far!! I’m excited to hear your thoughts. 🙂

  • Greg
    04.10.2019

    I’m glad you liked it, I’ve been wanting to read this one and I might read it next. I do love the sound of it. 🙂

  • Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer
    04.11.2019

    This was on my radar, so I am glad to see you enjoyed this. Lovely review! Welcome to self-hosted 🙂

  • ShootingStarsMag
    04.11.2019

    I love a good mystery, so I’m happy to hear you mostly enjoyed this one. I think it’s based on Strangers on a Train right? Love that movie (never read the book though).

    -Lauren

  • Lisa @ lilistarreads
    04.11.2019

    It sounds like a conversation you would have with your friend after breaking up with someone, I love that idea for a story. Great review!

  • Ashley S.
    04.11.2019

    This book sounds so good! I’m a big fan of mysteries and this seems like something I’d really enjoy. Awesome review! 🙂

  • Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog
    04.11.2019

    I want took read this but the ending sounds like how I felt about her last book. Still might be worth it!

  • Carrie @ The Butterfly Reader
    04.11.2019

    I’m not really into mysteries myself but that title is pretty intriguing! Great review!

  • The Candid Cover
    04.11.2019

    I am so happy that you enjoyed this one! I loved it as well. 🙂

  • Tracy @ Cornerfolds
    04.11.2019

    This sounds really good and this is the first I’ve heard of it! Bummer about the ending, but I’m glad you still enjoyed it.

  • Yvonne
    04.12.2019

    This sound like a really good read.

  • Chrissy
    04.12.2019

    Great review. I will have to check this one out.

    • Krystianna
      Chrissy
      04.12.2019

      You definitely should. Thanks for stopping by!

  • Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight
    04.14.2019

    This sounds quite good! Though I am sad that the ending was a bit disappointing. Especially in a mystery/thriller type book, I feel like the ending HAS to be on point, you know? At least it wasn’t predictable though, that is a plus! Glad it was mostly a win for you, great review!

    • Krystianna
      Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight
      04.15.2019

      I feel the same way. Thanks for shopping by!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Post
I finally made the switch to self-hosted!
Read More
Next Post
Interview with Lydia Schoch!
Read More