March 11, 2019

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss | Review

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss | ReviewFame, Fate, and the First Kiss on February 5, 2019
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Goodreads

Fan favorite author Kasie West delivers an effervescent story about chasing your dreams and following your heart, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick.
Lacey Barnes has dreamed of being an actress for as long as she can remember. So when she gets the opportunity to star in a movie alongside one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, she doesn’t hesitate to accept the part.
But Lacey quickly learns that life in the spotlight isn’t as picture perfect as she imagined. She’s having trouble bonding with her costars, her father has hired the definition of a choir boy, Donavan Lake, to tutor her, and somewhere along the way she’s lost her acting mojo. And just when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, it looks like someone on set is deliberately trying to sabotage her.
As Lacey’s world spins out of control, it feels like the only person she can count on—whether it’s helping her try to unravel the mystery of who is out to get her or snap her out of her acting funk—is Donavan. But what she doesn’t count on is this straight-laced boy becoming another distraction.
With her entire future riding on this movie, Lacey knows she can’t afford to get sidetracked by a crush. But for the first time in her life Lacey wonders if it’s true that the best stories really do happen when you go off script.

-what i liked-

  • Now, it’s been a while since I read a contemporary novel. As some of you may know, I have a love hate relationship with them. Sometimes I end up loving them, but other times they really annoy me because they’re so predictable. Yet, I really enjoyed this one! It was a bit predictable at times, yes, but it was engaging and interesting, which led me to continue on reading.
  • I loved that every so often, a chapter would open with part of the script. It made it really fun because then I knew exactly what was going on when Lacey and Grant would talk about the scenes since I actually got to read some of them.
  • The chemistry! I learned to absolutely love the tutor and he soon became my favorite character.
  • I also loved that this was such an easy read!

-what i disliked-

  • Honestly, the only thing I disliked was the added element of mystery that I didn’t even catch onto until 3/4 of the way through. It seemed a bit unnecessary, but I do think that it added to the plot a lot. But, other than that, I loved it!
  1. Sam Kozbial says:

    I love Kasie West, and as always, I enjoyed this book, but I agree, the mystery element was not necessary. I actually would have liked more the romance, because I was a Donovan fan.

  2. It's been a while since I've read a Kasie West book, but I love how cute and adorable they are! Contemporary is my favorite genre. 🙂

  3. Rissi says:

    Always enjoy Kasie's books, so I'm really looking forward to this one! Thanks for the reminder to read it – and for the Finding Wonderland visit last week. 🙂

  4. Elin says:

    I love Kasie West books. I haven’t read this one, but can’t wait to read it. Love your review 🙂

  5. Tina @ TNB says:

    Just finished this read and thought it had the potential to develop the characters more. While it’s a fun relaxing story, it ended just when it was getting juicy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

shares