September 18, 2017

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck | Review

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck | ReviewA Short History of the Girl Next Door on September 26, 2017
Pages: 272
Format: ARC
Goodreads

The unrequited love of the girl next door is the centerpiece of this fiercely funny, yet heart-breaking debut novel.
Fifteen-year-old Matt Wainwright is in turmoil. He can’t tell his lifelong best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her; his promising basketball skills are being overshadowed by his attitude on the court, and the only place he feels normal is in English class, where he can express his inner thoughts in quirky poems and essays. Matt is desperately hoping that Tabby will reciprocate his feelings; but then Tabby starts dating Liam Branson, senior basketball star and all-around great guy. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough; but, as Matt soon discovers, he’s close to losing everything that matters most to him.

I’m going to start of this review by saying that A Short History of the Girl Next Door is honestly perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews or John Green. Like the writing of this novel is literally on that level of greatness. After saying that, I’m not going to give a lot away in this review, because I think it’s a whole lot of stuff that you’ve got to experience for yourself.

You’ll absolutely fall in love with Matt. He goes through a lot of ups and downs and is falling for the girl across the street from him, Tabby. Matt also has his funny moments, and that’s where he reminded me of some of Andrews’ characters from Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.  

Throughout A Short History of the Girl Next Door, you’re going to experience so much heartbreak, and this book will make you feel a whole lot of feels, maybe some you didn’t even know you had.   

FYI, this isn’t a love story, but it is an amazing contemporary.

  1. Sam Kozbial says:

    I am starting this tonight, and you totally grabbed me with Andrews and Green (love them both!). I am trying to prepare myself for the heartbreak. I am such a total sap, so I better keep the tissues nearby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

shares