January 17, 2015

The Dare by Hannah Jayne | Review

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Dare by Hannah Jayne | ReviewThe Dare on January 1, 2014
Pages: 287
Format: ARC
Goodreads

She Made the Dare. Now She Can't Face the Truth.
Brynna and Erica were friends, best friends. They did everything together, until the night they jumped off the pier at Harding Beach...and only Brynna made it back.
A year later, Brynna is still picking up the pieces. She's in a new school with new friends, but she can't shake the demons of her past.
Then a Twitter post from "EricaNShaw" pops up in Brynna's feed and a chilling voice mail is left on her phone. Someone isn't ready to let go of what happened. Brynna barely survived losing Erica. She doubts she'll survive Erica's return.

Basically, The Dare is about two best friends: Erica and Bryn. They did absolutely everything together just like all normal best friends do. Except one night, they were partying and drinking and Erica got dared to jump into the water. Being the best friend that she is, Bryn decides to do it too. So they jump into the water, but Erica is nowhere to be seen afterwards. Only Bryn comes back up to the surface and is still alive. Nobody knows where Erica is, because her body couldn’t be found anywhere.

Though the synopsis for this book makes it seem like a super creepy suspenseful thriller, I didn’t exactly find this book to be all that suspenseful or thrilling at all. I mean yeah, the whole “I survived but my best friend didn’t and now is nowhere to be found” does seem kind of creepy at times, but it didn’t get so creepy that it gave me goosebumps and chills going up my spine.

Even though it wasn’t all that thrilling, I was definitely really into the whole story line. I actually finished this book in a day, which doesn’t happen all that often for me. Reading a book will usually take me a day or two, sometimes even a week, but I was just emotionally invested. I think this book would be perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars.

I found this book to be okay. I didn’t not dislike it or anything but I didn’t love it. It’s worth the read if you’re looking for a quick mystery book, because the mystery definitely kept me interested. I wanted to know what happened to Erica and everything, which kept me reading the book and flipping the pages. I have heard really great things about Hannah Jayne’s other novels, so I may have to check them out for more mystery reads.

Have you read this novel? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

shares